Get crafty

I’ve been swamped recently (in a good way). I’ve been working hard & playing harder. Between lab & playing with friends I haven’t had a whole lot of down time recently, but I’ve been making it a priority to get creative on a near-daily basis.

I picked up a sewing machine which I’ve had way too much fun playing with, and I’ve started attempting to make my first quilt! I’m following a pattern from purlbee for a zig-zag quilt. I picked up a few fabrics & have been diligently measuring & making triangles.

I’m pretty excited to see how it all turns out. I might pick up a few solids to throw into the mix & end up making a few yellowish/blue themed zig-zag quilts.

In super happy semi-related news, a good friend & coworker of mine has announced that she’s 13 (by now 14) weeks preggers! I’m super excited for her & her partner, they’re going to be the bestest parents on the block! I’m hoping to be able to crank out a pretty legit quilt by the time the baby comes along, also there will undoubtedly be a bunch of knit baby-things in the mix too –  so stay tuned for that.

About Helen

I am a student at the University of Pennsylvania Graduate School of Education. I love teaching and learning alongside my students. When I'm not in the classroom I'm exploring Philadelphia. I also like knitting, baking, crafting, reading, running, cooking, and brewing beer. I have a one-eyed dog, and Ms. Frizzle is my hero.
This entry was posted in Creativity and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

