Congee Noodle House

Congee Noodle House is a fabulous place for some Chinese comfort food. Congee is a rice porridge, and here they do it right. Topped with some hot sauce and vinegar, my heaping bowl of congee with shrimp and shiitake mushrooms was perfect for a drizzley day. My pal L got a bowl with pork and a preserved egg. I was not brave enough to try the preserved egg, maybe next time.

I will definitely be heading back here. Only downsides are that it’s cash only (though the low prices keep that within reason), also service was pretty lackluster… though for the cost and the food it’s worth putting up with. If you go I would definitely recommend using the condiments, the smokey chile sauce really added a layer of heat and spice, and the vinegar made the porridge out of this world!

 

About Helen

I am a student at the University of Pennsylvania Graduate School of Education. I love teaching and learning alongside my students. When I'm not in the classroom I'm exploring Philadelphia. I also like knitting, baking, crafting, reading, running, cooking, and brewing beer. I have a one-eyed dog, and Ms. Frizzle is my hero.
This entry was posted in Adventures, Meals and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

