Vancouver exploring and beyond!

Wandered around Stanley Park with some of my ladyfriends a month ago. We stopped for refreshments in English Bay & then ate our way through the Chinatown nightmarket

Karen, Adrienne, and Htet looking cute

Myself & Sophie also looking pretty slick.

After Chinatown we obviously needed extra refreshment & stopped by a pub downtown. I got a Hoegaarden and didn’t realize it’d be as big as my head. It was really tasty though. I really like cloudy unfiltered wheat beers.

Compared to my pal’s girly drinks mine looks pretty massive…

The next day, Sophie, Adrienne and I went to North Van & Lynn Canyon to go for a hike. We rode the seabus which was a bunch of fun, and stopped by Lonsdale Quay.

Cormorants were all hanging out by the water some were diving down to catch fish, it was really cool to see them disappear under the water.
Obviously a group shot was in order,

Being the poor students that we are we decided to go to Lynn Canyon and check out the free suspension bridge there rather than pay to go see Capilano.

There were a lot of waterfalls

And the bridge was pretty high up!

We decided to head towards Rice Lake, and rather than hike Lynn Peak, we wanted to loop around the forest.

We found a pretty crazy twisted overturned tree!

At the start of our trip we were feeling pretty refreshed & ready!

We had to watch our step and not walk on any banana slugs, they were everywhere!


We decided to eat our lunch on some boulders by a river.

And obviously post-lunch we took some goofy photos together!




We found a cave with monsters inside

And some man-made arches covered in moss.
We didn’t see too many dogs on the trails.. though we did see a TON of mountain bikers!
We found an even bigger overturned tree

and cooled down by the river

Things got a little goofy
And then they got a little artsy



And after getting lost and found and lost again, we happened upon a sign that featured a number too small for my liking.
only 5k?
more like 15!

There were these giant spiders everywhere! It’s spider season in BC!
Finally we found a way out! Wayyy too happy to see the bus stop.

Overall it was a great weekend exploring with friends. I’ve got a million more things to update on, life has been amazing and busybusybusy lately. More updates & pics to come soon!

About Helen

I am a student at the University of Pennsylvania Graduate School of Education. I love teaching and learning alongside my students. When I'm not in the classroom I'm exploring Philadelphia. I also like knitting, baking, crafting, reading, running, cooking, and brewing beer. I have a one-eyed dog, and Ms. Frizzle is my hero.
This entry was posted in Adventures, Fitness and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

