Yogurt Making!

Though I am not a dairy fanatic in the slightest, I was inspired to try making my own yogurt this week.

I followed directions for a crockpot method I found on A Year In Slow Cooking. Just started with a 2L carton of milk,  perfect fit for my crockpot.

I just poured the milk in and set it on low for about 2.5 hours.

Then I had to wait 3 hours (this was probably the hardest part) for the milk to cool a little. I then pulled out about 2 cups of the warm milk and added “1/2 of a cup” of yogurt with active culture (basically just took whatever leftover I had – it was about 1/3 of a big carton) and added it to the milk.

I stirred this and tried to get rid of any crazy lumps, and then put it back into the crock pot.

Then I just returned the lid, and covered the whole crockpot in a beach towel, made sure that it was off (unplugged it) and let it hang out for the night.

In the morning I awoke to find this…

deceiving at first because it appears to be just a big old crockpot full of milk…

But when I stuck a spoon in I was delighted to find out

I had made yogurt!!!! Now don’t get me wrong it is supremely runny yogurt, BUT it has that amazing yogurt tang to it, and I am excited to experiment a little more with thickening agents (milk powder/gelatin?) and soy/rice/almond milk.

I decided to combine my new yogurt, with the end of a pot of jam, and have a little toast on the side for a great breakfast.

YUM! When I had this breakfast I just felt really pampered and parisian. Somehow yogurt in a glass jar just felt like something you’d only find in europe.

The jar also makes it really easy to bring into work! yum! yogurt for lunch? I think so!

Only downside is that if you are not a big yogurt person/family then the shelf life on this is apparently quite quick… (AYISC says a week) I’ve always come from a family of iron gutted, no refrigeration necessary, if it’s not stinky or growing new life forms I’ll eat it kind of people so I will let you know how I flexible I find this deadline to be.

If you have ever thought about making yogurt at home, but were too nervous to try, this recipe is SO EASY! And, if you are willing to deal with a little runny yogurt for the first few trials, it could be a lot of fun to concoct your own dairy treat, not to mention save a bit of cash at the check out!

About Helen

I am a student at the University of Pennsylvania Graduate School of Education. I love teaching and learning alongside my students. When I'm not in the classroom I'm exploring Philadelphia. I also like knitting, baking, crafting, reading, running, cooking, and brewing beer. I have a one-eyed dog, and Ms. Frizzle is my hero.
This entry was posted in Meals, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

