Zach Attack!

Zach, a close friend from high school came to visit this past weekend and we had a lot of fun putzing around Vancouver. We did a lot of grilling, and made some fish tacos. Started by marinating some red snapper in canola oil, lime juice, garlic, onion, and parsley. Then we grilled those filets and heated up some corn tortillas in some foil, and grilled some corn on the side.

While everything was grilling, we made some salsa, just 1/2 a tomato, some parsley, salt, onion, and garlic.

And I made some guacamole, with just garlic and onion and lime.

The assembled tacos with a spicy mayo (just sriracha and mayo)

These guys were AMAZING!

Z & I went to Shabusen for their all you can eat sushi lunch special. Pictured below are some BC rolls, cucumber rolls, salmon rolls, and prawn tempura rolls. Not pictured: Tofu agedashi (regular & spicy), gomae, beef teriyaki (for Zach), gyoza (for Zach), sashimi, miso soup, spicy tuna cones, and some nigiri.

I started with such vigor, and attacked the gomae.

But by the end, Zach and I were both feeling pretty terrible…

We decided to walk it off and went to the Olympic Torch!

Z took some moody picks with North Van in the background.

We were really into this Douglas Coupland sculpture of a pixelated Orca!

It was crazy hot so we got some frozen lemonade,

Gimmie gimmie gimmie!

We wandered into Stanley park (not pictured) and got lost & got found & got lost again.

We made our way to English Bay & then back down to the downtown core, where we stopped at Beard Papa’s and picked up a cream puff.

AMAZING FILLING. Wanted a bathtub full of this by this point…

We stopped by the grocery store on the way home to pick up some stuff for dinner – including some brie!

Really creamy and nice, loving this stuff.

We also picked up some pretzel buns from the Swiss Bakery which are heavensent. I had some sauteed greens and dolmas for supper along with the pretzel bun.


Zach used his pretzel bun as a bun for his chicken smokie cooked over the grill, YUM!

The next morning we had some cantaloupe for breakfast

Some peanuty-chocolatey banana action

Washed down with mango juice!

That evening for supper we went to Moderne Burger. Really simple menu, but done SO WELL!  I started off with a creamsicle shake

And my salmon burger came out pretty quickly

Zach was blinded by how good his bacon-cheddar burger was

but he soon dug in.

After walking back towards UBC, we stopped at the Tim Horton’s/Coldstone and got a Founder’s Favorite with peanut butter cups instead of brownies… Try it. it was fabulous!

Overall I had an amazing time with Zach. I am so-so-so happy he came to visit! Already my house feels pretty lonely & I miss making meals with him & adventuring around Vancouver.

About Helen

I am a student at the University of Pennsylvania Graduate School of Education. I love teaching and learning alongside my students. When I'm not in the classroom I'm exploring Philadelphia. I also like knitting, baking, crafting, reading, running, cooking, and brewing beer. I have a one-eyed dog, and Ms. Frizzle is my hero.
This entry was posted in Adventures, Meals and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

