A Wonderful Weekend Visit

Had an amazing weekend with two visitors. Mike, a pal from high school had been studying birds in Oregon for the past few months, and swung up for a visit before his long trek home to PA. My boyfriend J also happened to come out this weekend. Mike arrived on Friday afternoon and J and I were planning a BBQ kinda night. Me being veggie now, and him being wheat free made for an interesting meal, but I was surprised by how well everything turned out.

Up front you can see the wheat-free bread we made from a Bob’s Red Mill mix I picked up at whole foods. The bread reminded me of a popover (it required 1 egg + enough egg whites to make it 3/4 a cup) and the mix was pretty pricey (somewhere above 5$) but in a pinch would provide a decent wheat/gluten free loaf (in my opinion).

Forgive the blurry photo. We made a plate full of fried goodness – double fried sweet potato & regular fries & spicy onion strings. Both were really simple to make – and I will have recipes for them in an upcoming post.

We made black bean burgers which were mighty tasty!

And accompanied it all with a fresh salad.

The next day despite the gloomy weather, J, Mike, and myself made out way out to Stanley Park.

We went to the Vancouver Aquarium and using his amazing camera, Mike took some wonderful shots of all of the creatures there! Hope fully he will post them soon on his flickr, but like I said he has a long way to drive home first! You should still check out his pictures, they are really beautiful and being in nature for so long has given him some great opportunities to take amazing photos.

After the aquarium, we went to Stepho’s. J got the rack of lamb, Mike the lamb pita, and myself I got the fried fish (forgot to mention before  my vegetarianism is really pescetarianism…)

J was wondering why I was taking so many pictures.

But the look on his face after he took a bite, says it all

Mike also enjoyed his lamb pita.

My fish was honestly subpar – next time I will definitely stick to the calamari or spanakopita!

Obviously had to get in some shots of us together, to prove that I didn’t spend my whole weekend behind the camera…

We parted ways with Mike, who had to hit the road again, and that evening, J & I went to Gen & Simon’s house for some beers & rockband.

For the first time I got to try Boddington’s Pub Ale, which I was wary of but actually really LOVED!

The head is super creamy and really tasty and you are meant to pour it down the middle or a “German pour” as J would say.

I unfortunately tried this pour technique on an Okanagan Spring Hefeweizen which had less than stellar results… but still tasted pretty awesome!

Obviously I had to try and get a close up picture of Shadow, their cat, this is the best one of about 40… for a friendly cat she is pretty anti-paparazzi.

Sometimes J is anti paparazzi too.

The next day J & I went to Posh and did sukiyaki. They are introducing changes to their menu, so they had a dollar drink special. I got a lychee flavored drink.

And J got a peachy drink.

We shared the hotpot (I obviously avoided the meat) and split some sashimi – a new addition to the Posh menu! It was really pretty but not the best sashimi I have had. Beautifully presented though and for only 5$ on top of the hotpot price… it was hard to beat!

We had to stop obviously for a latte at the 49th Parallel which served up a decent latte, but not as great as the ones we had in Calgary.

For J’s final night, we broke in the grill. We made some yogurt marinated chicken for him (with oregano and dill seed), and grilled pineapple, corn and veggies for me.

Add that to a leftover black bean burger and I was in charcoal grilled heaven!

We also tried a wine I picked up in the Okanagan. It was a little to dry for me, but J enjoyed it.

We demolished some guacamole (hand crafted by J) as an appetizer & dessert…

Overall it was a really great weekend spent with J & friends!

About Helen

I am a student at the University of Pennsylvania Graduate School of Education. I love teaching and learning alongside my students. When I'm not in the classroom I'm exploring Philadelphia. I also like knitting, baking, crafting, reading, running, cooking, and brewing beer. I have a one-eyed dog, and Ms. Frizzle is my hero.
This entry was posted in Adventures, Meals and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

