Giant update part 2

So here’s the second part of my Calgary adventure.  J & I saw the movie Inception which was AWESOME! Considering how long it was (2.5 hours) and how late we started (10:15 show) it had to be good for me to stay up for the whole thing, 10pm is my bedtime!

The next morning J & I went to Regency Palace which other people slam on this review site, but I found it to be decent dim sum. My policy with Chinese food tends to be follow the elderly asian people (normally I would ask my grandma but I doubt she has Calgary recommendations) and so far it hasn’t failed me.

The restaurant is located on the 3rd floor of an otherwise unbusy mall – it was a Sunday morning, but still I would have thought someone else would be up and at them!

Because there were only two of us we couldn’t go too crazy picking things out from the carts. We started with some shrimp wrapped in rice roll, and shu mai. J is on a wheat elimination diet, so the 4 pork gyoza we got later I had to eat all by myself! The total bill was under 20 bucks, and while we weren’t crazy stuffed, we were satisfied.

Obviously I had to take a picture of the massive Koi pond they had outside the doors of the restaurant.

We wandered down the street and decided to stop when we saw what was advertised as the best latte ever. We walked up to deVille Coffee and each got a latte. The space was beautiful and when we got our drinks we were impressed by the coffee-art the barista had made on each of our drinks.

A fern for J

And a heart for me!

I want to point out that despite the fact that we ordered the same thing (plain latte – thought the carmel and nutella versions looked tempting) the barista made our drinks separately. I’m not sure if this is a taste issue? Most coffee places I go to are really rush-rush-rush to get out your drink ASAP. This place seemed way more laid back, which I really enjoyed, but on a busy morning would probably make me grumpy.

J contemplated the taste of the latte. I found it to be really smooth, the foam was really bitter, but the coffee itself had no bitterness no biting aftertaste, really really nice!

J & I walked across a bridge to get to Kensington, where there was an annual salsa-fest going on!

There were tons of performances, including lots of dancers.

People running for office.

And of course SALSA!

What was so great about this was that the salsa samples were free, you just had to provide the chips. Each booth had a number and you were supposed to vote for the best one… but we didn’t know where voting occurred, so we just enjoyed a ton of salsa and walked around in the sunshine

J really loves his salsa. He really liked this super oniony one – which to me wasn’t spicy enough and had too much onion.

We found the mad hatter (unfortunately Johnny Depp wasn’t around though)

Some super tall ladies

There was a strongman contest going on, these guys were crazy- this point I think they were lifting around 500 pounds… made me tired just looking at them!

Here is a roasted tomato salsa which I really enjoyed. J got tested to find out his blood type by Canadian Blood Services. He’s never donated blood before but I think that finding out his type (and that his type can be used on a lot of different people) will kick him in the butt to start donating.

By the end of the day, J was almost salsa-d out – and so was I.

But I still had a ton of fun playing around in Calgary with him!

About Helen

I am a student at the University of Pennsylvania Graduate School of Education. I love teaching and learning alongside my students. When I'm not in the classroom I'm exploring Philadelphia. I also like knitting, baking, crafting, reading, running, cooking, and brewing beer. I have a one-eyed dog, and Ms. Frizzle is my hero.
This entry was posted in Adventures and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

