Berry Picking!

Went berry picking today at at Emma Lee Farms with some pals. Left bright and early for a head start on the endless fields Started off with the raspberries

which I picked a TON of though once arriving home it immediately felt like I needed about 10x that to quench my thirst for delicious sun kissed raspberry goodness. At the time though, I thought I had enough and decided to move onto some new fields upon seeing how excited my pal Lyndsey was about these berries

what berries could get a gal so pumped?

Oh Tayberries of course! I picked a bunch of those – they have a strange aftertaste, reminds me of drinking a big cup of orange pekoe. It leaves me with a dry-mouth kind of feeling, so I don’t think I’ll be eating this in large doses, though I think it’d make a mean iced-tea.

Thought I would try some black currants (despite not liking Ribena, I thought maybe I could like the fruit). BOY WAS I WRONG. I AM KANYE CAPS YELLING THIS, THAT IS HOW STRONGLY I FEEL. The black currant wasn’t terrible to start out with, but left me with this strong taste of rubber tire in my mouth, making me think I had just taken a big bite of a pesticide covered berry. I was later assured that nope, they are supposed to taste that way… How did this berry become cultivated? Out of all of the berries, these guys were growing in the most inconvenient way (i.e. were sort of hard to reach in the plants and weren’t crazy clustered together). These berries baffle me, if someone can make something tasty out of these suckers though I would be thoroughly impressed.

I had really low expectations for the blueberries. I think this stems from the fact that when you buy them, you will invariably get a couple of super sour under-ripe berries in your bunch which is the taste that sticks in my memories. Luckily I was SO WRONG! These guys were huge and juicy and sweet and AMAZING! Totally made up for the terrible currants! I got a bunch of these and will hopefully make a pie out of some of them.

After paying for everything (including a 3 lb bag of new potatoes) it came to under 20$, making the whole experience that much better! Fresh berries, a fun activity, and cheap, I’m in heaven!

After a long morning of working in the fields, we needed sustenance… in the form of MILKSHAKES! Yum! This strawberry one disappeared fast! Lyndsey got two mini milkshakes one berry, one chocolate and decided to mix and match the two tastes, with delicious results! (Here she’s just pretending to be a walrus).

Another reason why this trip was so great was getting to meet new peeps! Here are Sam & Alexa some jawesome peeps who are perhaps more into Settlers than even I am… Not pictured here are Aidan & Heather, who I really hope to climb with sometime, Amanda – who was not a zombie despite her jetlag (I was grateful I have plans for my brainz) and Ryan who I hope to quench my now ravenous chick-fil-a craving with.

A farm is never complete without a tractor for kids to play on… so obviously we had to indulge our inner kids & play as well. Lyndsey decided to go all magazine cover on us and strike a pose The pouted lips really sell it.

Ryan wanted to get in on the action and decided to give it his best shot & pose for the cover of a magazine too…

But it doesn’t come to all of us as naturally as it does to Lyndsey.

That’s more like it!

Everyone wanted to get in on the tractor action, and so we all climbed aboard.

A fine looking group! What awesome people to do such an awesome activity with!

After a short ride home I was pretty tired, but managed to get a picture of all the berries I picked + the potatoes. The total haul after some mild snacking is pretty impressive

obviously decided to refresh with a lime & raspberry laced glass of water, YUM!

About Helen

I am a student at the University of Pennsylvania Graduate School of Education. I love teaching and learning alongside my students. When I'm not in the classroom I'm exploring Philadelphia. I also like knitting, baking, crafting, reading, running, cooking, and brewing beer. I have a one-eyed dog, and Ms. Frizzle is my hero.
This entry was posted in Adventures and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Berry Picking!

  1. Lyndszor says:

    Beautiful pictures, berries, friends, and adventures!

Leave a Reply

